Adama Bictogo elected new National Assembly President
Adama Bictogo - Ivory Coast newly elected National Assembly President . photo: I/T

Abidjan, June 07, 2022 -
Agboville MP Adama Bictogo, is the newly elected president of the National Assembly of Côte d'Ivoire.
Elected with 237 out of 248 voters, Bictogo succeeds Amadou Soumahoro, who died on May 7. Candidate for this post, on behalf of the Rally of Houphouëtists for Democracy and Peace (RHDP) ruling party, Adama Bictogo benefited from the support of all groups, including the opposition.
MP Jean-Michel Amankou, a member of the parliamentary group of the Democratic Party of Côte d'Ivoire (PDCI) who did not benefit from the sponsorship of his party or the opposition, went to this election under the banner of an independent candidate .
In his speech, the new President of the National Assembly expressed his gratitude to President Alassane Ouattara and to the former Heads of State Laurent Gbagbo and Henri Konan Bédié for their support. As a priority, he expects to make this institution a modern tool for innovative projects, the improvement of the living conditions of elected officials.

Bady Claude Djaquis